A Birthday, Some Photos and the Story of a Radio Show!

It’s been a busy 6 weeks. A little step away from Christmas and straight into the chase that is the London Mural Preservation Society. The first thing we have been working on is  organising our February event – the celebration of 30 years of the Nuclear Dawn Mural. We had secured speaker and venue back in November but it’s all the tiny details to sort out such as projector, sound, numbers, promotions and so on and so forth. And then there are ‘new and exciting ideas which will make this an even more exciting event than it is!’. These are the brain waves of the ‘L_MPS’ers pulsating out creative visions to make the birthday even more thrilling. Let me just say it will be an afternoon well spent.

So that’s 20th February 2011 at 12:30 at the Dogstar, Coldharbour Lane, Brixton.

Just in case any of you forgot.

And on that note, finally we have got around to making public the pics from the Brixton Mural walk back in September. Yes , it has been awhile and we hang our head in shame that we did not get around to making this a priority.

So without further ado, here they are:

Brixton Mural Walk September 2010

And the last thing to mention is our outing to the BBC Radio London Robert Elms’ Show. That was exciting – we didn’t expect the interest in what we are doing so soon! But remember guys and girls who are following our mural hunt, this mural spotting society is unique in London – no-one else is covering it!

I was the person who went to speak on the programme. I know the subject area pretty well but apart from the walks, I’m not someone who regularly does public speaking. I got to the studio and was shown to a reception area and then left on my own. I could see the show being recorded and a big clock reminding me it was my moment soon! My heart was pounding louder than the show and I had to remind myself I was just going to have a chat. I was ushered into a room whilst the music still played. Mister Elms had a quick natter to put me at ease and then we were live on air to about 60,000 people!

It generally wasn’t too hard. I tried to do less of the ‘ums’ , ‘ahs’ and ‘basically’ ( a word I use far too frequently!). And didn’t get too flustered. Time dragged slowly and then I was whooshed out of the room, with a passing ‘thank you’ to Robert and I was off back to my office job.

The phones beeped as people texted me to say well done. What I find most interesting is what people remembered – ‘Mural geek’ and ‘Where’s wally? ‘ ( a game to spot the saxaphone in the mural). My friend said I mentioned Bootle – a town she had been living in- and my mum said I had commented that it was her who took us past the Scary Nuclear Dawn mural.

All in all, it was a good experience. More people looked at the website and have heard about what we do. The show had an enthusiastic response from it’s phone-in. And that also means that we got a few more bits of information about the murals in London. Job well done!

About londonmuralpreservationsociety

The London Mural Preservation Society aims to bring murals created over the last 40 years back into the attention of the people of London and out further afield into the rest of the UK and the world.
This entry was posted in London Mural Preservation Society, Mural Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

