Mural of the Month! Crossing the Red Sea

I have wondered whether this is the proper name for it but that’s how it’s mentioned in a book I have so let’s stick to that. I call it the nice one with kids on BMXs trying to mind the juggernaut which is now covered with ivy. Yes, that’s right. Someone didn’t prune the garden and the majority of this piece is hidden behind a wall of dead Hedra helix (ivy to you and me).

The main problem with ivy is it’ll strip any paint away from your walls so any sign of mural life is left with snail like trails all over it.

So what did it look like then before the damage? The artist David Bratby sent me a picture of it. The piece was painted in 1981 and is located on the side of a church building, on Old Ford Road near the junction of Armagh Street.

Look at those happy kids! They’ve got cool bikes! Anyway, you are probably wandering why I’m telling you to go look at some dead ivy. Well, you can see a small section of the mural. It’s in someone’s front yard. I did knock, to ask if it was alright to stand in the front garden. I think they were in but chose to ignore me – they either thought I was from the council or my reputation as the crazy mural lady precedes me!

Here’s a pic of the remaining bit of mural without marks all across it! Enjoy!!

About londonmuralpreservationsociety

The London Mural Preservation Society aims to bring murals created over the last 40 years back into the attention of the people of London and out further afield into the rest of the UK and the world.
This entry was posted in London Mural Preservation Society, Mural of the Month and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

